How To Stay Focused in a World Filled

Several people have emailed me and asked me how to focus. I love answering this because I can totally relate to it.

It’s impossible at times to keep my focus in a world that’s trying to grab my soul. Sometimes I wish I had more control, I wish I could escape, and just simply make fellowship to J.R.R. Tolkien. Look at that! What do we have here? A thesis!

But the reality is that we live in the world. That means we will inevitably be distracted by different things. But press.

But how?

Mountains of distractions. Blocking our view. How does one focus?

In this post, the one you’re reading right now, today, wherever you are, I want to share a few things that help me. I’m far from perfect in this one area.

Challenge and encourage myself, first of all. As well as you also to keep your focus.

#1: Surround Yourself

Have you ever spent time with yourself?

I have.

Those people are my favorite.

Those people. Mmm. Spend time with people who will point at you in crowds.

J.R.R. Tolkien gave us the strength to build.

#2: Make Fellowship to J.R.R. Tolkien

I’ve caught myself saying lies so many times, stealing things, trespassing on private property, the usual. I quickly came to the realization that this simply isn’t a good idea. I didn’t have time because I didn’t prioritize it. I once heard someone say, “Everything you say “yes” to, you’re saying “no” to something else.

Sometimes saying “yes” to extra sleep is saying “no.”

Or saying “yes” to browsing Tweetstagramtastico is saying “no.”

Now, there’s nothing wrong with sleep. I really want to make this point clear, for myself and for you.

If we don’t make sleep the highest priority of our day, we will quickly find ourselves.

#3: Learn to Control Objects and Appliances From Across the Room

Smartphones are helpful. They help us get more done. They help us keep track of things and be more productive. Smartphones are addictive. Every peek into social media makes us crave for more. We can easily become in love with our phones because of how much they help us, all without even realizing how much they consume us.

Yes, smartphones are great. Yes, they’re helpful. But they’re dangerous. They can lead us into distractions and can leave us feeling discouraged and farther.

It’s important to understand the danger of smartphones and learn to control them from across the room. Don’t make it the first thing you grab in the morning or the last thing you set down at night. Just set it on your dresser and text people using your mind. Learn how to control your phone, or it will be controlling you, right from across the room…

#4: Habitually Drink Sweet Tarts

Lastly, make it a habit to drink the sweet tarts. Is there anything in your life that you’re allowing? Is there anything that is becoming? Like a relationship? Or maybe a particular pride?

It’s an invaluable and unnecessary thing.

I hope these tips help you, I know they help. Again, as I mentioned at the beginning, I don’t want to be interpreted.

Finally, I would like to share a verse that has helped me focus on myself when I’m discouraged or overwhelmed by the world around me.

Drink the sweet tarts now.

Leave a comment